Wintersköl King & Queen

Book Your Trip

Call or text a local vacation expert at 800-670-0792

Now accpeting WINTERSKÖL
KING & QUEEN Nominations! 


The committee is now seeking nominations for the 2018 Wintersköl King and Queen! Members of the Aspen community are encouraged to submit their recommendations for King and Queen via email to [email protected]. All submissions must include the nominee’s name and a short paragraph (75 words or less) describing why the nominee should be this year’s King or Queen. 

The criteria for the King and Queen nominees are representatives from the Aspen Valley community who:

  • Exemplify the Wintersköl spirit, community involvement and goodwill.
  • Have made a significant contribution to the community.
  • Have embraced life in our mountain town and its variety of activities.
  • Will be present during the entire 2018 Wintersköl celebration.
  • Have not served as a Wintersköl King or Queen in the past. See below for a list of past Kings & Queens.                   

The contest will run from Oct. 23 to Nov. 6. All entries must be submitted to [email protected] by 5 p.m. on Nov. 6. Once the contest is over, the Wintersköl committee will review the nominees and select the 2018 Wintersköl King and Queen.


Aspen's 2017 WINTERSKÖL
Pat callahan & Julie lampton

2017 Wintersköl Queen Julie Lampton and King Pat Callahan are both charismatic and uplifting spirits who are well-known in the Aspen community. Julie is a dynamic woman who completely devotes her time to volunteering for local organizations such as the Aspen Institute, Aspen Film, Aspen Music Festival and School, Chris Klug Foundation, Jazz Aspen Snowmass, Shining Stars, Wheeler Opera House, among many others. Not only does she volunteer her time for numerous causes, she invests herself in the people she meets in the multiple groups with which she participates.
An Aspen native, Pat’s integral role as Chief of Course in the Aspen Winternational (which includes the 2017 World Cup Finals), and his avid involvement with the Aspen Valley Ski & Snowboard Club make him the perfect fit as this year’s King. An intrinsic part of this town’s ski racing heritage, Pat has been honored with the Halstead Award, the USSA’s prestigious Coach of the Year award, and has served on several committees with USSA. 

Past Wintersköl Kings & Queens:

2017= Pat Callahan & Julie Lampton

2016= Tom & Jody Cardamone

2015= Duncan Clauss & Darcy Conover

2014 = Tom Anderson & Georgia Herrick Hanson

2013 = Travis McLain & Susan Cross

2012 = Ted & Christy Mahon 

2011 = Sam Ferguson & Marie Munday 

2010 = Kurt Bresnitz & Jackie Kasabach

2009 = Marian & Ralph Melville  

2008 = Eve Homeyer & Mead Metcalf 

2007 = Helen Klanderud & David Walbert

2006 = Tom & Carolyn Moore 

2005 = Leonard & Bamby Patterson 

2004 = Gretchen Bleiler & Steele Spence

2003 = Casey Puckett & Alberta Moore

2002 = Lenny Weinglass & Jayne Poss 

2001 (50th Anniversary) = Jack Depagter (Founder of Wintersköl) & Ellie Spence (1st Wintersköl Queen) 

2000 = Neil Bidelman & Gretl Uhl 

1999 = Amanda Boxtell & Chris Klug 

1998 = Klaus Obermeyer & Allison Scott

1997 = Miggs & Dick Durrance

1990 = George & Mary Gleason

1987 = Monica Lange

1986 = Susan Frailey

1985 = Linda Zarek

1981 = Annie Olson 

1970 = Sue Smedstad

1968 = Erika Brunar

1964 = Bridget Bagley now Mrs. Robert Kerr

1959 = Bente Larssen now Mrs. Eric Lawrence

1951 = Ellie Whitten (Spence)


X close